What's onSchool open daysLocal directoryOffers & competitionsJobsHistoryMapFeatured
Contact usPost an event
Sodbury and Yate Business Association Active Chipping Sodbury Chamber of Commerce member GR Autoservices Dick Whittington RichMcD Photography Memorial Woodlands: woodland cemetery and funeral directors

What's on


Saturday 22nd April 2017, 9:30am

Know Your Blood Pressure Day

61 Broad Street

The annual Know Your Blood Pressure Day is organized by the Rotary Club. Aimed at increasing awareness of the need to have your blood pressure checked the event is held at Number 61 Broad Street, next door to the Town Hall.

Organiser and retired GP Dr. Tony Sarafian commented, ‘raised blood pressure is a potent cause of strokes and heart attacks. Even nowadays there are still people who have never had their blood pressure checked and are unaware that they may have a life-threatening condition’.

On the day a team of doctors and nurses will be checking blood pressures from 9.30 am to 3.30 pm. Any member of the public is welcome to attend but Dr. Sarafian points out that the event is looking to target members of the public who have not had their BPs checked in the last five years, if at all.

Dr Sarafian continued, ‘there is little point in us checking the BPs of people who are on treatment for raised BP and are having their BPs checked regularly at their own surgeries. It is the person who is not aware that they have raised BP that we are looking for’.

At last years event 103 people were checked with 20 being referred to the GP because of raised BP. Two were given an urgent referral.

Dr Sarafian’s final word, ‘checking blood pressure is a very simple matter which only takes a minute or two, a minute or two that might save your life’.



Venue information

61 Broad Street
61 Broad Street, Chipping Sodbury, BS37 6AD


The Royal Oak, Cromhall

Country Style Supplies Ltd

Other events

Friday 20th October 2017

Saturday 21st October 2017

Sunday 22nd October 2017

Monday 23rd October 2017

Tuesday 24th October 2017

Wednesday 25th October 2017

Thursday 26th October 2017

Friday 27th October 2017

Saturday 28th October 2017

Sunday 29th October 2017

Monday 30th October 2017

Tuesday 31st October 2017

Click here for more events.




© 2017 Cromhall Media Ltd