Home  |  Contact MySodbury   
Active GR Autoservices Chipping Sodbury Chamber of Commerce member Sodbury and Yate Business Association Memorial Woodlands: woodland cemetery and funeral directors RichMcD Photography

What's on


Saturday 22nd April 2017, 9:30am

Know Your Blood Pressure Day

61 Broad Street

The annual Know Your Blood Pressure Day is organized by the Rotary Club. Aimed at increasing awareness of the need to have your blood pressure checked the event is held at Number 61 Broad Street, next door to the Town Hall.

Organiser and retired GP Dr. Tony Sarafian commented, ‘raised blood pressure is a potent cause of strokes and heart attacks. Even nowadays there are still people who have never had their blood pressure checked and are unaware that they may have a life-threatening condition’.

On the day a team of doctors and nurses will be checking blood pressures from 9.30 am to 3.30 pm. Any member of the public is welcome to attend but Dr. Sarafian points out that the event is looking to target members of the public who have not had their BPs checked in the last five years, if at all.

Dr Sarafian continued, ‘there is little point in us checking the BPs of people who are on treatment for raised BP and are having their BPs checked regularly at their own surgeries. It is the person who is not aware that they have raised BP that we are looking for’.

At last years event 103 people were checked with 20 being referred to the GP because of raised BP. Two were given an urgent referral.

Dr Sarafian’s final word, ‘checking blood pressure is a very simple matter which only takes a minute or two, a minute or two that might save your life’.



Venue information

61 Broad Street
61 Broad Street, Chipping Sodbury, BS37 6AD


Sodbury Vale Musical Comedy Club

Country Style Supplies Ltd

Other events

Saturday 29th April 2017

Sunday 30th April 2017

Monday 1st May 2017

Tuesday 2nd May 2017

Wednesday 3rd May 2017

Thursday 4th May 2017

Friday 5th May 2017

Saturday 6th May 2017

Monday 8th May 2017

Tuesday 9th May 2017

Click here for more events.




© 2017 Cromhall Media Ltd